Qualitynet and Torrents

May 27, 2007 at 11:07 pm 4 comments

I am subscribed to Qualitynet DSL 512 , and unfortunately I bought their wireless router which is terrible and have low distance range. Recently I have noticed something that my wireless connection goes down with no reason.

After a while I figured out once I close the software I’m using to download torrents my wireless connection gets back. I guess this is what Qualitynet is doing to prevent people from using torrents which consumed most of its bandwidth.

Anyone experiencing the same thing ?

Entry filed under: Internet.

Better World آخر كلام

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ajeez  |  May 28, 2007 at 12:07 am

    At least give me credit, come on.

    Reply
  • 2. Purgatory72  |  May 28, 2007 at 6:52 am

    I think it is a matter of setting up your modem and some techincal issues rather than a block by Qnet or reduction of speed, so maybe someone else can assist on wireless, I use an ethernet modem and although sometimes I face problems with connection overall, in general it is decent.

    Reply
  • 3. ahmad.TV  |  May 28, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    as Purgatory72 noted its clearly a technical issue, u need to open some ports in your router to make it work, chayek ehnee: http://www.portforward.com

    Reply
  • 4. Bojacob  |  May 28, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Qnet can’t really turn off your wireless connection. I do remember hearing that certain routers really suck with Bittorrent since it opens up a lot of connections and fills up the router’s puny memory.

    You can try a firmware upgrade or try someone else’s router. I’m using an old hacked WRT54g with Tomato firmware and it’s working beautifully.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 91,599 hits

