Werewolf in the office

May 15, 2007 at 8:04 pm 10 comments

I work in this office , where I have an Asian guy who works next to me. He is older than me and has a higher title but he is not my boss but we have the same boss. I call him a Werewolf because he looks like one.

I have been working with him for the past several months. During that whole period he was really annoying and selfish. At first I thought he was my 2nd boss , so I was being nice with him and working extra with him and helping him out on everything. With all the work I did to him he took all the credit without doing much. After few months I found out he does not evaluate me and does not have any power on me , So I changed 180 degrees on him and started ignoring him and treating him like an equal colleague.

In our work place we have partitions that separates our desks , during the last few months , and every time he wants to make a phone call , He opens the speaker phone and dials the #s ( ToooT ToooT TooooT ) on the maximum volume , I didn’t want to complain at first since I was the new guy and didn’t want to be the Daloo3 complaining type . Before two weeks I was really busy and had alot of things that needed thinking and concentration and I reached a point where I HAD IT with him , So I stood up and when to his desk and said politely

Me : Can I tell you something ? but please don’t get mad or take it personal

Werewolf : ok ?

Me : please , when you want to make a phone call , please pick it up . I can hear every call you make and it distracts

me from work

Werewolf : But it is hard for me to work * then he demostrates to me how hard it is to pick up the phone and hang on between his jaw and shoulder * , I can’t talk on the phone like that and work

Me : I think it is easy , just pick it up and dial the # , after you’re done with your call , continue your work

Werewolf : Why did they put the speakers then ?

Me : they put it to make conference calls , and for people who have their own offices !

Werewolf : ok ok , I will lower the volume on the speaker

Me : No , please just pick it up and talk , I can still hear you . I am right next to you

Then I left his office , thinking the problem was solved , Few days later he starts doing it again after lowering the volume of the speaker . I waited a day or  two he opens the speaker ” 6ooooooooooo ” then dials a number then talks in an asian language and when he finished I was very angry then I went to him and said

Me : Pleaaaaase , pick up the phone , You are really annoying me and I can’t work like this , Everybody can hear you

Werewolf : WHAT ? I am talking to my wife , what did I bother you by ? what did you hear ?

Me : I hear every call you make , you don’t need to dial the on speaker , Just pick it up and stop distracting me

Werewolf : Ok .. ok … I will try ..

Me : WHAT ? you will TRY ?! you either will do it or not .. there is no try .. I am talking to you politely and asked you nicely and this is the second time I tell you

Werewolf : I don’t have to listen to  you !!

Me : What ? you dont have to listen to me ? Why not ? I told you .. khalas .. Just pick it up .. every person has something that stops him from work .. for me I can’t work when you put it on speaker

Then I left his office very angry

Few days later , He opens the speaker , Puts on the volume on MAX ,and dials to a mobile number then it gets ” Aljehaz Moghlaq Aw Kharej men6aqat el tagh6eyah … The Mobile Has been switched off or out of the coverage area ” , he doesn’t hang up when he first hear the first word .. No , he leaves it till it says it all in arabic and english.

I wanted to go to his office and pick it up and hangs it my self , or pick it up and throw it in his face !

I didn’t want to go to our manager and complain to him , since I would be the complaining type who fights with his co-workers . So I told  the H.R. and they talked to our manager .. Hopefully he will stop it .. if not I’m probably going to really fight with him and make a big problem about it and probably get fired because of him.

I can’t work with people like him , I think I have a degree of OCD , small noises annoys me and stops me completely from functioning. Also I think I need anger management , I have been getting really really angry at work lately and can’t hold my anger.

for example today , I brought in some chocolates and sweets to the office , to distribute for the ocassion of the new baby. I went to the kitchen and gave it to the Banghali teaboy and told him :

Me :Keep it with you and hide it , DO NOT OPEN IT .. this will be distributed after Thohor Prayer.. DO NOT OPEN IT
and I went to  do my work .. @ 9:45 this Banghali guy starts distributing it ,  I stoped and told him to go to the kitchen , I went to him and yelled at him for being stupid and told him

Me : WHAT DID I TELL YOU ?! YOU HAVE NO BRAINS ? YOU ACT ON YOUR OWN ?

Banghali :You said after prayer … hmmm .. I mean @10:00 ..

Me : WHY DIDNT YOU COME ASK ME ?!

Banghali : I came to your desk and didnt find you ..

I looked at him and really really wanted to slap him in the face and told him

Me :DONT ACT ON YOUR OWN .. WALLAH WALLAH WALLAH if you do it again Ma tloom ella nafsik

and I told that same thing to the other teaboys.

I need to control my self more , but it is very hard on me I am sick of these small things in office that angers me .. and I am sick some of the stupid around me who keep acting so rude. I don’t think I’m going to last in the company for more than 3 years.

It is really not easy to work in and organization , I remember taking a course back in college called ” Organizational Behavior ” I took an F the first time , and took a D the next time. Not because I was bad , but because the Dr was a weirdo and was not fair AT ALL.

Entry filed under: work.

Uncle Financy Tribute to True Faith

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Catism  |  May 15, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Boy, he is giving you a really hard time.

    I’m the apposite; very tolerant which is not good, believe me.
    I have been training myself to act as if I were angry when something gets under my skin, otherwise people get advantage and think I’m week if I don’t get upset and show it to them.

    I think I could borrow some of your anger 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Ra-1  |  May 16, 2007 at 9:59 am

    “WHAT ? I am talking to my wife , what did I bother you by ? what did you hear ?”
    Hahahha so sad I didnt hear that :p

    I told u ‘change ur office’, move to a place not close to his!

    Reply
  • 3. True Faith  |  May 16, 2007 at 10:09 am

    hahahahahahahaha

    Sorry but reading it from someone else is really funny 😛

    Reply
  • 4. yara4ever  |  May 16, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Abaih really lazm u change ur office ;/
    I took OB too, bas i got a good grade coz everything was online even the exams 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. EniGma  |  May 16, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    hahahaha shfeeek u think everyone is wrong or weirdo or rude! LOL u said it urself, ANGER MANAGEMENT! ok look, the next time something pisses u off just say “esta’3farallah” over and over.. that’s what i do, but then, i’m the kind that gets pissed quickly and cools down quicker. Just ask urself, laish ga3id a3awir rasy?

    and next time werewolf puts the phone on speaker, just throw something over the partition 😀

    Reply
  • 6. Ajeez  |  May 16, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    His power lies within his hair. Pour hot wax all over his face then pull it off. He’ll be a nice clean cut seelanie afterwards.

    Or just run after him with an electric razor.

    Reply
  • 7. 1001Nights  |  May 17, 2007 at 1:19 am

    Wow. That must be tough. Especially since you seem to feel really guilty afterwards. Honestly having a bad relationship with a colleague is one thing but yelling at the teaboys is just gonna make you look bad. I could think of some things that may be useful inshalla oo Alla yhawin 3alaik cuz it can’t be easy to be angry all the time:
    1) Do what Engima said plus te3awath min iblees wayed wayed throughout the day.
    2) Go regularly to the gym or walk near your house at least three times a week so that you can release some stress and work your thoughts out.
    3) Make sure you ALWAYS have food when you’re hungry at work because sometimes ilyoo3 yzeed il 3asaara. Ya3ni bring something from home like an apple and a sandwich and keep a canned box of peanuts in your desk in case you run out of food you have something to munch on.

    Good luck.

    Reply
  • 8. EniGma  |  May 18, 2007 at 4:14 am

    food? hahaha 1001Nights u should see what he has in his drawer 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Laialy_q8  |  May 22, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh
    we9alt no9 el qo9ah ma qedart akamil el salfaa

    Reply
  • 10. 248-am  |  May 22, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    “I was the new guy and didn’t want to be the Daloo3 complaining type”

    I wish 248am had that sense!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 91,588 hits

